TRIFECTA: Blowing Rock’s Hodges named Watauga “Teacher of the Year”

TRIFECTA: Blowing Rock’s Hodges named Watauga “Teacher of the Year”
Embedded Banner 468×60
Hodges celebrates award recognition with students.

Special Report to Blowing Rock News from Watauga County Schools. By Garrett Price. May 11, 2018. BLOWING ROCK, NC — Blowing Rock School’s Terri Hodges was named Watauga County Schools district-wide Teacher of the Year in surprise ceremony held Friday morning at the school. Hodges was presented the award by Superintendent Dr. Scott Elliott along with Blowing Rock and WCS central office staff.

COVER IMAGE: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Scott Elliott surprises Terri Hodges with Teacher of the Year award in Blowing Rock School gymnasium during a school-wide assembly. All photographic images by Garrett Price of Watauga County Schools.

Each year, Watauga County School celebrates its Teacher of the Year candidate with a surprise ceremony. Hodges was honored in front of the school’s students and staff who awaited her entrance in the gym.

This year marks Hodges’ fourth teacher of the year nomination since 1990 and Blowing Rock School’s third consecutive teacher of the year award.

This year marks Hodges’ fourth teacher of the year nomination since 1990, and Blowing Rock’s third-consecutive teacher of the year award.

Hodges earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Middle Grades Education from Appalachian State in 1988 and has 29 years of experience in Watauga County Schools, spending all but one year of her career in Blowing Rock School. She teaches eighth-grade math and social studies.

Blowing Rock Principal Patrick Sukow said Hodges was invaluable to the school — both as a teacher in the classroom, and a leader at large.

Left to right: Principal Patrick Sukow, Terri Hodges, Dr. Scott Elliott, and Board of Education members Brenda Reece and Dr. Gary Childers

“Mrs. Hodges teaches with great respect,” Sukow said. “The amount of planning and hours she puts into her lesson planning each day is evident to her students, and they want to work harder themselves because of it.”

Elliott said teachers like Hodges are an asset to the schools in which they teach.

“Experienced teachers, especially leaders like Mrs. Hodges, bring so much to their school,” Elliott said. “Their skills and dedication don’t just leave a mark in their own classrooms and with their own students, they do work that extends to every corner of their schools and beyond. We are lucky to have such teachers in Watauga County Schools — especially veteran teachers like Mrs. Hodges.”

Watauga County Schools Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers at each school. The Watauga County Schools District-wide Teacher of the Year is chosen through a process that includes interviews, unannounced teacher observations in classrooms, and a review of a written statement of teaching philosophy prepared by each candidate.

This year’s selection committee included Dr. Betsy Furr, Dr. Gary Childers, Eve Parsons, Preston Clarke and Jennifer Lacy.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *