Meet The Candidates Forum, October 25th In Boone

Meet The Candidates Forum, October 25th In Boone
Embedded Banner 468×60

By David Rogers. October 18, 2016. BOONE, NC — The Boone Area Chamber of Commerce is hosting a “Meet The Candidates” forum on Tuesday, October 25, 5:00 pm, at the Watauga County Courthouse on West King Street in Boone.

The forum will be divided into five basic segments.  As of this writing, those segments and the candidates who have RSVP’d that they will participate are:

  • 5:00 pm — Welcome and Introductions
  • 5:05 pm — Candidates for U.S. Senate and House
    • Virginia Foxx (R)
  • 5:50 pm — North Carolina 24th Judicial District
    • Rebecca (Becca) Eggers-Gryder
    • Joshua (Josh) Teague
  • 6:00 pm — Watauga County School Board
    • Brenda Reese
    • Ron Henries
    • Barbara Kinsey
  • 7:00 pm — Watauga County Commissioner
    • John Welch (D)
    • Elizabeth Shukis (R)
    • Perry Yates (R)
    • Diane Blanks (D)
    • Larry Turnbow (D)
  • 8:00 pm — North Carolina Senate, House, and Governor
    • Governor
      • Lon Cecil (L)
    • NC Senate (District 45)
      • Art Sherwood (D)
    • NC House (District 93)
      • Sue Counts (D)
      • Jonathan Jordan (R)

According to information provided to Blowing Rock News, questions will be asked of all the candidates in a “round robin” format; each having an opportunity to answer first, but all answering the same question.  The audience will be allowed to submit written questions during the forum.  All questions will be asked by the moderator.  Each response will have a 1-minute time limit and each candidate will have a 2-minute closing statement.

This forum is not intended to be a debate between candidates or between the audience and the candidates, but rather an opportunity for the citizenry to hear each candidate’s position on topics important to all.  In order to maintain decorum, political literature and signage will not be allowed in the room.

The forum is open and free of charge. More information is available from the Boone Area Chamber of Commerce, 828-264-2225.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *